Logo of LLMC Digital present on all screens.  Clicking here will always return to Homepage
A 501 (c)(3) nonprofit committed to ‘saving the law’
prd server 2Book Bag
Description and Holding Information
Joint Comm. on Election Districts. Act to divide the Commonwealth into Districts, 1833
Senate No. 11 On January 3, 1833, thirty-one men were assigned to a joint committee to redistrict the state for the election of Representatives to
the United States Congress. An Act to divide the Commonwealth into districts for the choice of Representatives to the Congress of the United States
and prescribing the mode of election, 1833. Twelve districts were listed, with one representative to be elected from each. On the second Monday in
November, qualified voters were to gather and cast their votes. The vote totals were forwarded to the Secretary of State, who sent them on to the
Governor. He notified the winners. If there was no majority in a particular district, there was another vote. If death or resignation removed an office
holder, there was another vote. There was a chart listing towns within districts and the populations of the districts. (Digitized from a microfilm
copy of title originally held by the Massachusetts State Library).
Title:   Ordered, that Messrs. Leonard of Norton, Shaw of Lanesboro', Bliss of Springfield, Clark of Northampton, Billings of Conway, Thurston of Lancaster, Thayer of Uxbridge, Keyes of Concord, Peabody of Boxford, Robinson of Marblehead, Robbins of Boston, Ames of Dedham, Little of Marshfileld, Freeman of Sandwich, Mayhew of Chilmark, and Pinkman of Nantucket, with such as the Senate may join, be a committee to make the necessary arrangements for districting the Commonwealth, and to provide for the choice of Representatives to the Congress of the United States.
OCLC Number:   1396610576
Available Volumes
NameFiche CountOnlinePaper Backup
Vol. 1YesNo