

The LLMC Digital Newsletter

Issue 70, September, 2020

Report on Annual Members Meeting

LLMC's 43rd Annual Members Meeting was held on July 19 via Zoom due to the pandemic. Key items on the Agenda: Board approved NO **INCREASE** in Membership subscriptions effective in 2021; Early State Records (ESR); Indigenous Law Portal (ILP) and RIGHTS! Portal (coming soon); Foreign Official Gazettes; AALL Archive; more content for Canada, United Kingdom, Latin America, Germany, Cuba, US States etc. Also, partner updates, including: CRL, Google, AfricanLII, and Library of Congress. The principal business of the annual meeting was elections for LLMC's two governing bodies, our Board of Directors and Advisory Council. Voting rights for delegates reflected each library's subscription status relative to LLMC Digital.

Elections 2020

In the Board of Directors election, two four-year slots were open due to the expired terms of **James Duggan**, Dir., Tulane U.L.L., and **Barbara Garavaglia**, Dir., U. Mich. L.L. The Board of Directors nominated **James Duggan** to another term, especially to serve as Personnel Chair, and **David Gee**, Libn., Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (London). The Board's nominees were elected by acclamation. In addition, the Board appointed **Judy Russell**, Dean, U. Florida Libraries, to serve the remainder of Barbara Dewey's term due to her retirement.

In the Advisory Council elections, six councilors' terms expired. Four were nominated and reelected by acclamation: Glen Dickenson, Dir, Iowa Leg Serv Ag, Mary Hemmings, Dir, Thompson Riv. ULL, Linda Maslow, Libn, US Sup Ct L, and Jean Wenger, Dir., Chicago-Kent LL. Two new nominees were elected: Alex Burdett, Libr., Univ of Victoria and Ivo Vogel, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Germany).

Our full leadership for 2020/21 appears below. We extend our sincere appreciation to those who have contributed their time and expertise as they have been instrumental in providing important content, counsel, and oversight to LLMC over the years; especially, Barbara for her valued support as Personnel Chair. Barbara has been instrumental in steering the course of the organization from Hawaii to Minnesota. Our grateful congratulations to all the new incumbents. All of us have already benefited so much, and will no doubt continue to benefit, from the willingness of our colleagues to serve!

> **LLMC's Leaders in 2020/21** (Final year for each term follows the name)

Board of Directors:

Richard Amelung (Chair) Prof. Emer., Saint Louis U.L.L. (2022) James Duggan Dir., Tulane U.L.L. (2024) David Gee, Libn., I.A.L.S. (2024) Lyonette Louis-Jacques For. & Int'l Law Libn., U. Chicago L.L. (2023) Anne Matthewman Dir., Dalhousie U.L.L. (2021) Kathleen Richman LLMC Exec. Dir. (ex officio) Judy Russell Dean, U. Florida Libraries (2021) Beth Williams Dir., Stanford U.L.L. (2022) Suzanne Young Libr. Services Mngr., Jones Day (2023)

Director Emerita:

Barbara Garavaglia Dir., U. Mich. L.L.

Advisory Council:

Alex Burdett Libn., University of Victoria (2023) Femi Cadmus Dir., Duke U. L.L.(2021) Glen Dickenson Dir., Iowa Leg. Serv. Ag. (2023) Yemisi Dina Chief Law Libn., Osgoode Hall (2021) Jan Fleckenstein Dir., U. Syracuse L.L. (2021) Jonathan Franklin Assoc. Dean U. Wash. L.L (2021) Jolande Goldberg Sen. Cat.-Policy Spec., LC (2022) Mary Hemmings Dir., Thompson Riv. U.L.L.(2023) Marci Hoffman Assoc. Dir U. Cal-Berkeley L.L. (2021)

Linda Maslow Libn., U.S. Supreme Court L. (2023) Teresa Miguel-Stearns Dir, U Arizona L.L. (2021) Kent Olson Hd, Res. Serv., U. Virginia L.L. (2022) Michelle Pearse Sr. Res. Libn., Harvard U.L.L (2022) Sara Sampson Dir., The Ohio State U.L.L. (2022) Roger Skalbeck Assoc. Dean, U. Richmond L.L. (2021)

Richard Tuske Hd. Libn., N.Y.C. Bar L.L. (2021) **Ivo Vogel** International and Interdisciplinary Legal Research, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preußischer Kulturbesitz (2023)

Jean Wenger Dir., Chicago-Kent L.L. (2023) Ronald Wheeler Dir., Boston U.L.L. (2021) Greg Wurzer Libn. & Hd., U Saskatchewan L.L.(2021)