

The LLMC Digital Newsletter

Issue 69, October, 2019

Report on Annual Members Meeting

LLMC's 42nd Annual Members Meeting was held at AALL in Washington DC on July 15. Key items on the Agenda: Board approved a 2.5% increase in Membership subscriptions effective in 2020; new document viewer and page type search; Early State Records (ESR); Indigenous Law Portal (ILP); AALL Archive; more content for Canada, Latin America, Germany, Cuba, US States etc. The principal business of the annual meeting was elections for LLMC's two governing bodies, our Board of Directors and Advisory Council. Voting rights for delegates reflected each library's subscription status relative to LLMC Digital. In addition. Jolande Goldberg, Library of Congress, spoke about ILP and Julie Silverbrook and Richard Bernstein, ConSource, discussed ESR's importance to researchers and the legal community.

Elections 2019

In the Board of Directors election two fouryear slots were open due to the expired terms of **Joseph Hinger**, ret. St John's U.L.L., and **Regina Smith**, ret. Jenkins L.L. The Board of Directors nominated **Lyonette Louis-Jacques** For. Int'l Law Libn, U. Chicago and **Suzanne Young** Libr. Services Manager, Jones Day. The Board's nominees were elected by acclamation. Of note, Suzanne Young is the first law firm librarian to join LLMC's Board.

In the Advisory Council elections, four councilors' terms were due to expire and they were nominated and reelected by acclamation: Jolande Goldberg Sen.Cat Policy Spec., LC, Kent Olson Hd Res Serv, U.Va.L.L., Michelle Pearse Sr Res Libn, Harvard U.L.L, and Sara Sampson Dir., The Ohio State U.L.L. In addition, David Gee Librarian, I.A.L.S. replaced ret. Jules Winterton.

Our full leadership for 2019/20 appears below. We extend our sincere appreciation to those who have contributed their time and expertise as they have been instrumental in providing important content, counsel, and oversight to LLMC over the years; especially, Regina for her valued support as Finance Chair and Joe for his specialized insight as Technology Chair. Both Board Members were instrumental in transitioning the organization from Hawaii to Minnesota. Our grateful congratulations to all the new incumbents. All of us have already benefited so much, and will no doubt continue to benefit, from the willingness of our colleagues to serve!

• LLMC's Leaders in 2019/20

(Final year for each term follows the name)

Board of Directors:

Richard Amelung (Chair) Prof. Emer., Saint Louis U.L.L. (2022) Barbara Dewey Dean, Penn. St. U. Libraries (2021) James Duggan Dir., Tulane U.L.L. (2020) Barbara Garavaglia Dir., U. Mich. L.L. (2020) Lyonette Louis-Jacques For Int'l Law, U. Chicago (2023)

Anne Matthewman Dir., Dalhousie U.L.L. (2021) Kathleen Richman LLMC Exec. Dir. (ex officio) Beth Williams Dir., Stanford U.L.L. (2022) Suzanne Young Libr. Services Mngr, Jones Day (2023)

Directors Emeriti:

Kent McKeever ret. Dir., Columbia U.L.L. Judy Russell Dean, U. Florida Libraries

Advisory Council:

Femi Cadmus Dir., Duke U. L.L.(2021) Glen Dickenson Dir., Iowa Leg. Serv. Ag. (2020) Yemisi Dina Chief Law Libn., Osgoode Hall (2021) Catherine Dunn Dir., U. Denver L.L. (2020) Jan Fleckenstein Dir., U. Syracuse L.L. (2021) Jonathan Franklin Assoc. Dean U. Wash. L.L (2021) David Gee Libn. I.A.L.S. (2021) Jolande Goldberg Sen. Cat.-Policy Spec., LC (2022) Mary Hemmings Dir., Thompson Riv. U.L.L.(2020) Marci Hoffman Assoc. Dir U. Cal-Berkeley L.L. (2021) Sheri Lewis Dir., U. Chicago L.L. (2020) Linda Maslow Libn., U.S. Supreme Court L. (2020) Teresa Miguel-Stearns Libn, Yale U.L.L. (2021) Kent Olson Hd, Res. Serv., U. Virginia L.L. (2022) Michelle Pearse Sr. Res. Libn., Harvard U.L.L (2022) Sara Sampson Dir., The Ohio State U.L.L. (2022) Roger Skalbeck Assoc. Dean, U. Richmond L.L. (2021) Richard Tuske Hd. Libn., N.Y.C. Bar L.L. (2021) Jean Wenger Dir., Chicago-Kent L.L. (2020) Ronald Wheeler Dir., Boston U.L.L. (2021) Greg Wurzer Libn. & Hd., U Saskatchewan L.L. (2021)